Posted by: p-la | September 8, 2011

Relationships

Today would have been my 10 year wedding anniversary. This has led me to do some thinking about relationships through the years. When I was a teenager and in high school, I wanted a boyfriend just to say that I had a boyfriend. When I was in my 20s I wanted someone to party with, sleep with, and laugh with. In my 30s I wanted someone who shared my values and wanted a family and stability. Now, in my 40s I just want someone to share the 3 Ms with: meal, movie, and making out. Wonder what my 50s will bring?

Responses

  1. it’s amazing how our wants/needs/tastes change as we get older. just shows how we grow as people and how sometimes getting married young or in haste, would we make the same decisions if we knew then what we know now? I know i wouldn’t have. 🙂

  2. Most of my life I planned my wedding and I knew one thing for sure, I would be married and have kids. Until I almost married the wrong person. Realizing that I almost married someone just to be married scared the bejesus out of me. Did a whole lot of work on me and why i didn’t feel I was enough all on my own. Took a while and there are still some lonely nights, but I finally figured out I am enough, sometimes maybe too much 🙂 I wouldn’t turn down some 3 M action, but I am so happy I am not that girl. I am curious myself to see what changes come down the pike.


Leave a Reply

Categories

